git push hangs when windows git client pushes to TeamFoundation Git Server

I ran into this problem with Git 1.9.5. Downloading the 2.4.x version fixed my problem, although I had to copy my .bashrc file over to .profile. I also had to aim my ConEmu at the “Program Files” version of Git as it moved from the “Program Files (x86)” folder (I downloaded the 64-bit version).

Pedro Liska

Look at the bottom of this blog post for the solution to this issue.

I’m using the regular Windows git client (1.9.5.msysgit.1 downloaded from git-scm.com) to push a repository with a 46KB file to a remote repository that is a Team Foundation Server Git repository.

When I do “git push” the console hangs for about 5 minutes (sometimes more) and then gives me a 401 error:

I know my credentials are correct. When I enter wrong credentials I get an immediate error and don’t even see the first line from git push (the “Counting Objects” line).

I have been able to get this to work when

  1. (smaller file) The only file in the repo is 20KB in size, OR
  2. (use MS client and server) Instead of using the regular git client (1.9.5.msysgit.1), I use Visual Studio 2013, OR
  3. (use non-MS client and server) I push to a github remote (like this…

View original post 290 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

